Repair-Restore-Renew (RRR) 2013

Proudly supported by
 ING Direct Foundation
 John T Reid Charitable Trusts
Doc Ross Foundation
Federal Government
FRRR Donation Accounts
Rotary International District 9800
School Aid Trust
Stand Up (Jewish Aid Foundation)
Tim Fairfax Family Foundation
Wilson HTM
Previous funding rounds

FRRR's Repair-Restore-Renew (RRR) Program helps communities recover from natural disaters, by providing grants that help to address community needs that begin to emerge 12-18 months after the disaster event. FRRR's experience shows that this is the time when the focus often moves to community recovery, as individual needs have often been met. It is also the time when the rest of the world has often turned its attention to subsequent natural disasters.

The RRR 2013 program provided grants to support the medium-to-long term recovery of communities impacted by the bushfires, cyclones and floods in Tasmania, Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland in 2013. 

Thanks to the collaboration of several donors, 5 grant rounds were conducted across the 2013 disaster-affected regions, with nearly $530,000 distributed in funding to 48 community groups.

Grants ranging from $100 to $15,000 were provided to non-profit and community organisations based in, or working in these disaster affected communities. A variety of projects were supported, including mental health and community wellbeing, volunteer support and training, community preparedness and resilience strategies, environmental recovery, local economic recovery, and community infrastructure restoration and renewal.

“Without organisations like FRRR and their donors we would not have had our Museum restored. Cardwell’s history would have been lost forever. Cardwell might be a small town but we all help to contribute to Australia’s rich history. It would have been such a travesty to have lost that.”

Murray Massey, Cardwell Historical Society

Eligible Communities

The following communities were eligible for funding from the RRR 2013 program. These regions were declared by the Australian Government as impacted by the natural disasters of the 2013 summer:

Natural Disaster Date Eligible Communities

Tasmanian bushfires

January 2013

Broadly the Central Highlands, East Coast, Forestier and Tasman Peninsula:

  • Bicheno
  • Boomer Bay
  • Connelly’s Marsh
  • Copping
  • Dunalley
  • Eaglehawk Neck
  • Forcett
  • Murdunna
  • Primrose Sands
  • Sommers Bay
  • Susans Bay
  • Taranna

Victorian bushfires


January-February 2013
  • Seaton
  • Glenmaggie
  • Heyfield
  • Dawson
  • Licola (broadly the Wellington Shire)
  • Chepstowe (Snake Valley - Pyrenees Shire)
  • Dereel (Golden Plains Council)
  • Harrietville (Ovens Valley region)

Northern NSW floods

January and February 2013
  • Bellingen
  • Byron Bay Shire
  • Kyogle
  • Kallang
  • Macleay
  • Manning
  • Nambucca
  • Tweed Rivers
  • Camden Haven
  • Clarence Valley (including the Orara River)
  • Hastings
NSW Blue Mountains / Newcastle bushfires October 2013
  • Blue Mountains
  • Lithgow
  • Muswellbrook
  • Port Macquarie
  • Port Stephens
  • Wingecarribee
  • Wyong

NSW bushfires

January 2013
  • Shoalhaven region
  • Warrumbungles region


Case studies


Privacy Policy

Website by CeRDI, in collaboration with JAW Communications and Twenty 20 Graphics